tbl 13

A couple sit down for an early dinner (it was like 5.30p). I greet them and inquire about drinks. The matron is holding the wine list so I prepare myself to go through the routine about which reds are spicy, which whites are floral, etc., etc., ad nauseum.

The first words out of her mouth: “what’s your sweetest wine?”

Ugh, a connoisseur I can tell.

I neglect, as a matter of principle, to let her know that we have bottles of white zin in the walk-in, and tell her that our riesling would likely be the sweetest, though it’s from France instead of Germany and is drier in comparison. I also offer to bring a taste if she’d like.

She asks if I would, and I return shortly w/ the 1oz pour of riesling.

She finds the wine good for service and orders a bottle. I bring it and begin to pour when she stops me dead in my wine service and says:

“Please don’t pour my glass yet, I’d like a glass of sprite. I kind of like to make mine a spritzer.”

A white wine spritzer w/ sprite?!

Jesus.

Published in: on October 18, 2007 at 8:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://table15.wordpress.com/2007/10/18/tbl-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment